top of page

DIY Tri-Fold Wedding Invitations



I recently finalized my wedding invitations and wanted to share a step-by-step tutorial as well as what I used to make them! I love that the tri-fold design allows you to put everything on one sheet of paper. While I appreciate the design of a full invitation suite, my personal opinion is that half of it gets thrown away immediately and it's just a lot of information spread out over different pieces of paper.


Invitation Design


I designed the invitations using Canva. I created a 10x7 page and used a seamless floral pattern for the outside of the invitation.


Here is a link to the pattern I used (only available with a Canva pro subscription).


For the other side, I started in the center and included the actual invitation details. I don't have any tips for aligning everything, other than to mock up your design and do a practice print on a regular sheet of paper to see if the folds cut off any of the wording.


If you have a way of measuring, the center panel is 5" wide and the two side panels should be 2.5" wide each.



The fonts I used are Branch (purchased on Etsy here), Le Jour Script, and Binggo Wood.

For the small flower details, I cropped portions of the floral pattern from the back page.


Printing the Invitation


To print, I imported the two pages to Word and made sure they were 10x7 before printing on this linen paper from Amazon. I use a Canon TS5320 printer that I bought from Target.


Invitation Assembly


To fold the side panels, I used this scoring board from Amazon. It has a ruler at the top, so it was very easy to measure 2.5" in from each side to create the folds.


Next, I used this pink chiffon ribbon from Amazon, that I ripped in half to make thinner. I then used an a taper runner to tape the ends of the ribbon to the front panels of the invitation.


Wax Seal


For the wax seal, I bought these wax cubes from Amazon and this wax stamp from Etsy with our initial and wedding date on it. Simply melt the wax and pour onto a piece of parchment paper before sticking the stamp on it. I also dried baby's breath and put a small sprig of flowers in the wax before applying the stamp.


Once the wax has cooled, remove the stamp and use the tape roller to stick it to the front of your invitation!


**I earn commissions on items purchased from Amazon using the links in this post**



bottom of page